Movements for strings and percussion



Journal Title

Journal ISSN

Volume Title


Texas Tech University


Movements for Strings and Percussion is a three-movement work for string orchestra and percussion. There are nine separate string parts (four violins, two violas, two cellos and contrabass). The work can be performed by nine solo string players, or with multiple players on each part. Four percussionists are required, performing on the following instruments: xylophone, marimba, vibraphone, wind chimes, temple blocks, triangle, cow bells, cymbals, tambourine, piccolo snare drum, bass drums, and timpani.

The piece explores the limitations caused by clear sectional musical form construction and the use of limited pitch resources (limited pitch classes in the first movement, and material derived from a twelve-tone row in the second and third movement) in three ways: (1) by combining the string family as quintet, quartet, or sections, (2) by utilizing various performance techniques in the strings (mute, ponticeilo, harmonics, and pizzicato) and percussion (bowed vibraphone), and (3) by using a wide variety of percussion instruments.

In addition to the use of limited pitch resources. Movements achieves unity and coherence by using common elements throughout the work. The two common elements are: (1) instruments featured as soloists in each movement, and (2) the use of compound intervals, octave displacement, and disjunct melodic writing.



Instrumentation and orchestration, Twelve-tone system, Melodic analysis, Harmonic analysis (Music), Percussion with string orchestra, Music